You are here

Stuart Lichtman (US)

Memorial-Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Commack, USA

I am a medical oncologist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and participate in the 65+ Clinical Geriatrics Program.  My main research interest is in the treatment and evaluation of older cancer patients.  In ASCO, I have been on the Clinical Practice Committee and Scientific Program Committee and currently on the Health Disparities Committee Working Group on Addressing Cancer Disparities Among Older, and Chair the Organ Dysfunction Section of the Modernizing Clinical Trials Eligibility Project and the Scientific Education Committee.  I am the Associate Editor for Geriatric Oncology of the ASCO Post.    I have been a guest editor for the Journal of Clinical Oncology on a special edition devoted to geriatric oncology in 2007 and 2014.

I am involved in a number of research organizations including the Elderly Taskforce of the Gynecologic Oncology Group (currently NRG), and the Cancer in the Elderly committee of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology; serve on the editorial board of the Journal of Geriatric Oncology,  I received the ASCO BJ Kennedy Award for Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology in 2014 and currently serving as the President of the International Society of Geriatric Oncology and the Scientific Chair of the 2017 Annual Conference of SIOG which will be held in Warsaw in November.

He has been a member of ASCO since 1988 and have been an active participant by serving on the Clinical Practice Committee, Scientific Program Committee, Geriatric Oncology Special Interest Group, an invited speaker at Educational Sessions, ASCO University, ASCO Post and a faculty member of the ASCO/AACR Vail Clinical Trials workshop for five sessions on the topic of special populations. He has been a guest editor for a special edition devoted to Geriatric Oncology for the Journal of Clinical Oncology (2007 and 2014). He has published over 100 articles in peer review journals, contributed to nine book chapters and edited three books and have been an invited speaker and many national and international meetings on Geriatric Oncology. In 2014 he received the ASCO BJ Kennedy Award for Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology.

November 9, 2017
8:30am to 9:00am Opening address Warsaw IV & V Stuart Lichtman (US), Demetris Papamichael (CY), Agnieszka Jagiełło-Gruszfeld (PL)
9:00am to 10:00am Plenary session: Advancements in the field of geriatric oncology Warsaw IV & V Siri Rostoft (NO), Stuart Lichtman (US), Hans Wildiers (BE), Marije Hamaker (NL), Lore Decoster (BE), William Tew (US)
November 10, 2017
8:30am to 9:30am Plenary session – From research to practice: incorporating geriatric oncology into patient care Warsaw IV & V Shabbir Alibhai (CA), Stuart Lichtman (US), Martine Extermann (US), Barbara Van Leeuwen (NL), Pierre Soubeyran (FR)
November 11, 2017
11:30am to 12:30pm SIOG presidential session and SIOG 2017 awards Warsaw IV & V Stuart Lichtman (US), Arti Hurria (US), Hans Wildiers (BE), Etienne Brain (FR)