You are here

Pierre Soubeyran (FR)

Pierre Soubeyran, M.D., Ph.D., is a Medical Oncologist at Institut Bergonié, Comprehensive Cancer Center in Bordeaux, and Professor of Medical Oncology at the University of Bordeaux. He is highly involved in the development of Geriatric Oncology at both the clinical (co-coordinator of the Coordination Unit of Geriatric Oncology of Aquitaine) and research level (President of the Scientific Council of the French Society of Geriatric Oncology (SoFOG) and Coordinator of the French Geriatric Oncology Cooperative Group DIALOG). He is also involved in cancer research as Director of Research of Institut Bergonié comprehensive cancer center in Bordeaux, Director of the U1218 INSERM Cancer research unit and Director of the SIRIC, Center for Integrated Cancer Research of Bordeaux, named BRIO (Bordeaux Recherche Intégrée Oncologie).

He earned his Medical Degree from the University of Nantes in France and trained in Medical Oncology at the Institut Bergonié and University of Bordeaux. He completed a fellowship at the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston and later obtained his Ph.D. at the University of Bordeaux in the field of minimal residual disease in follicular lymphoma. An active researcher, Prof. Pierre Soubeyran’s clinical interests include clinical and biological research on lymphoma and geriatric oncology. He is leading trials focused on these topics as part of the French LYSA lymphoma Research Group and the French Geriatric Oncology Cooperative Group DIALOG. He is a member of ESMO, ASCO, ASH, SoFOG and SIOG. He has authored and co-authored numerous articles, book chapters and monographs on various aspects of cancer treatment.

November 16, 2018
8:30am to 9:00am SIOG 2018 Opening address Plenary Room Stuart Lichtman (US), Pierre Soubeyran (FR), Johanna Portielje (NL)
9:00am to 10:00am Plenary session: Advancements in the field of geriatric oncology Plenary Room Marije Hamaker (NL), Pierre Soubeyran (FR), Nienke de Glas (NL), Frederiek Van den Bos (NL)
November 17, 2018
9:30am to 11:00am Multidisciplinary approach: evaluation and management of toxicities in haem malignancies Breakout room Simon Mooijaart (NL), Pierre Soubeyran (FR), Marijke Quaghebeur (BE), Nina Neuendorff (DE), Marianne Ryberg (DK), Reinhard Stauder (AT)