You are here

Demetris Papamichael (CY)

Cyprus Oncology Centre, Medical Oncology, Nicosia, Cyprus

Demetris Papamichael is Director of Medical Oncology at the Cyprus Oncology Centre in Nicosia, a post he has held since 1999. He obtained his medical degree from Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School, Imperial College/London in 1988. Dr Papamichael trained in internal medicine and obtained his Membership of the Royal College of Physicians (MRCP) in 1992. His subsequent training in medical oncology was completed at the Royal Marsden and St Bartholomew’s Hospitals in London. He became a Fellow of the Royal College (FRCP) in 2002. Dr Papamichael is an American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Merit Award winner. He is an active researcher and has participated in a number of Industry sponsored studies as well as clinical trials coordinated by the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer and the UK Medical Research Council/National Cancer Research Institute. In addition, he is involved in translational research projects in colorectal cancer.

Dr Papamichael’s main clinical interests include gastrointestinal cancer, and cancer in the elderly. He has published his work in a number of peer-reviewed international journals. Dr Papamichael is actively involved in the teaching and organization of courses run by the European School of Oncology (ESO) and the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO).  He is a member of ASCO, ESMO and the International Society of Geriatric Oncology (SIOG). Recently he headed a Task Force responsible for developing recommendations for the management colorectal cancer in the elderly under the auspices of SIOG. He is also a member of the ESMO metastatic colorectal cancer guidelines committee and the ESMO GI faculty.

November 9, 2017
8:30am to 9:00am Opening address Warsaw IV & V Stuart Lichtman (US), Demetris Papamichael (CY), Agnieszka Jagiełło-Gruszfeld (PL)
10:30am to 12:00pm Optimal management of localized rectal cancer in older patients Warsaw IV & V Rob Glynne-Jones (GB), Krzysztof Bujko (PL), Harm Rutten (NL), Demetris Papamichael (CY), John Green (GB)