You are here

Paul Calabresi award

The Challenge

Populations around the world are rapidly ageing. According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), the number of people over 60 years is set to double by 2050. As a consequence, this will lead to increased demand for primary health care and long-term care as well as larger and better trained workforce that can respond better to the health needs of the elderly population.

Universal health coverage and the health goal of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development provide the foundations to adequately address the emerging societal challenges related to cancer amongst the ageing populations.

As oncologists around the world shift their focus to the field of geriatrics, increased understanding of the impact of research, innovation and clinical practices for older adults with cancer is becoming of critical importance. Since the early 2000s, the International Society of Geriatric Oncology (SIOG) has positioned itself as an influential stakeholder of the strengthening of health workforce for improving the care of older patients with cancer around the world.


The Approach

SIOG is a science-led healthcare organization with a purpose to contribute to the global response for continued progress in medical care and public health in the area of oncology for ageing populations. Every year, SIOG recognizes a prominent world expert in the Geriatric Oncology field by awarding them the Paul Calabresi Award.

  • 2003 - Dr. Lodovico Balducci - Tampa, FL, USA
  • 2004 - Dr. Rosemary Yancik - Bethesda, MD, USA
  • 2005 - Dr. Matti Aapro - Clinique de Genolier, SWITZERLAND
  • 2006 - Prof. Silvio Monfardini - Padova, ITALY
  • 2007 - Prof. Hyman B. Muss - University of Vermont Cancer Center, Burlington, VT, USA
  • 2008 - Dr. Riccardo Audisio - Whiston Hospital, Merseyside, UK
  • 2009 - Dr. Harvey J. Cohen - Duke University School of Medicine, USA
  • 2010 - no award as Annual Meeting was cancelled.
  • 2011 - Dr. Beena Devi - Hospital Umum Sarawak, Kuching, MALAYSIA
  • 2012 - Prof. Pierre Soubeyran - Institut Bergonié, Comprehensive Cancer Center, Bordeaux, FRANCE
  • 2013 - Dr Supriya Mohile - University of Rochester Medical Center, School of Medicine and Dentistry, Rochester, USA
  • 2014 - Dr. Martine Extermann - H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, USA
  • 2015 - Dr. Hans Wildiers - UZ Leuven, Leuven, BELGIUM
  • 2016 - Dr. Reinhard Stauder - Innsbruck Medical University, Innsbruck, AUSTRIA
  • 2017 - Dr Arti Hurria - City of Hope National Medical Center, Cancer and Aging Program, Duarte (CA), USA
  • 2018 - Martine Puts - Lawrence S. Bloomberg, Faculty of Nursing, University of Toronto, Canada
  • 2019 - Marije Hamaker - Diakonessenhuis, Utrecht, Netherlands

 To fund this Award, please visit our Donate page.